Pre- and in-service training: Questions for discussion

<< < (6/8) > >>

Arrey Emmanuel Enow:
In my rural communities in Cameroon, the word sex is still considered a taboo. not to talk of a teacher mentioning it to the pupils in class. With my experience in my primary school in which i graduated, when i called the word sex when i was giving the children lesson on HIV/AIDS, more than half of the class bend their heads down. This shows that they are not use to the word. I asked the teacher after the lesson why it happened and he told my this word is not often used and when you use it, you will be stigmatised as being "raw".
This i think is a problem that originates from the teachers training leading to inappropriate approach to the pupils.
One other thing that i noticed was that most of these teachers in the rural areas are parent teachers. These teachers had no formal training as teachers.
I think teachers should be well trained in sex education and sent more especially in the rural areas of Cameroon.

Arrey Emmanuel Enow:
The Issue of Pre-and in-service training for HIV/AIDS should be focus more on the rural areas than the urban areas and UNESCO should take a leading hand in doing this.
In most war torn countries and countries who had suffered from crises for a long time, more emphasis is always focus in the urban areas and leaving the most vulnerable in the rural areas more Open to HIV/AIDS and the conseguencies.

Zulaikatu Usman Momodu:
Quote from: Forum Moderator on May 07, 2009, 12:06:10 pm

• How are HIV and AIDS addressed in pre-service teacher training in your country or the country/ies in which you work? What opportunities are there for continuous professional development on HIV and AIDS for teachers and what is the content, process and duration of the training? Are both pre- and in-service training opportunities offered and what is the coverage?